Foster Care Adoption
Adopt a child through foster care. Articles for mothers and fathers.
Foster Care Training – A state by state guide.
Below is a brief description of what each state requires for foster care training:
Louisiana-Foster care training required but hours were not specified. Please contact 866-249-0559.
Maine-Foster care pre-service training requires 24 hours. Please contact 1-877-505-0545.
Maryland-Foster care of 27 hours is required. Please contact 1-800-332-6347.
Massachusetts-Foster care pre-service training of 24 hours required. Please contact 1(800) KIDS-508.
Michigan-Pre-service training is required but hours are not specified. Please contact 1-866-685-0006.
Minnesota-For more information please contact 866-665-4378.
Mississippi- Must complete at least 12 hours pre-service training and 12 hours in-services training every two years to maintain a license. Please call 1-800-345-6347.
Missouri-No training information is available online. Please contact (573) 751-3221.
Montana-Foster care pre-service training is required. For more info e-mail AskAboutFosterCare@mt.gov.
Nebraska-Pre-Service foster care training for 27 hours is required. Please call 1-800-7PARENT.
Nevada-Foster care pre-service training is required but hours are not specified online. Please call (775) 684-4400 for more information.
New Hampshire- Foster care training of 21 hours is required. Please call 800-852-3345.
New Jersey- Foster care training is required. Please call 1-877 NJ FOSTER for details.
New Mexico-Parenting classes are required by foster parents. Please call 1-800-432-2075.
New York-Foster parent classes are required. Please call 1-800-345-KIDS.
North Carolina- Foster care training is not mentioned online. Please e-mail mailto:firstname.lastname@example.org.
North Dakota-Foster care training for 27 hours is required. Please call (701) 777-3442.
Ohio-No foster care training information is available online. Please call 877-852-0010.
Oklahoma-Foster care training of 27 hours is required. Please e-mail Margaret.Linnemann@okdhs.org.
Oregon- No foster care training information is available online. Please call 1-800-331-0503.
Pennsylvania-Six hours of foster care training is required annually. Please call 1-800-951-5151.
Rhode Island-Foster care training for nine weeks is required. Please call 401-528-3791.
South Carolina-No training information given online. Please call 803-898-7318.
South Dakota- Foster care training of 30 hours is required. Sioux Falls area: (605) 334-3431 Rapid City area: (605) 343-2598 .
Tennessee-Foster care of 30 hours is required. Please call 1-877-DCS-KIDS.
Texas-Training is not specified online. Please call 1-800-233-3405.
Utah-Foster care training of 32 hours is required. Please contact Utah Foster Care Foundation at 1-877-505-KIDS.
Vermont-Foster care training of 30 hours is required. Please contact your nearest district office by following this link http://www.dcf.state.vt.us/fsd/districtoffices.html.
Virginia-Foster care training is required but hours are not specified online. To find your local office follow this link: http://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.html.
Washington-Training is required but not specified online. Please call 1-800-760-5340.
West Virginia-Training requirements are not listed on the state website. For more information fill out the request form here: http://www.wvdhhr.org/bcf/children_adult/foster/inquire.asp.
Wisconsin-Foster care training is required but specified online. Please call 1-800-947-8074.
Wyoming-Foster care training is not specified online. Please e-mail email@example.com.
Sources: Each state individual website was researched to collect this data.